Subversion Basics for Windows Users: How to use Tortoise SVN

1. Check out files from a Subversion server.

Right click on the folder where you want to save the files and select SVN Checkout:
Checkout Step 1
Copy and paste or type the url of the repository and click OK:
Checkout Step 2
Confirmation screen indicating that a folder called ‘resources’ and a file called AssetMapping.pdf were downloaded successfully:
Checkout Step 3

2. Add a new file to Subversion.

To save a new file to the Subversion database, first save it in one of your version controlled folders. Right-click on the file icon and choose TortoiseSVN –> Add.
Add a file to Subversion - 1
Screen confirming successful addition of file. NOTE: This step does not save the file to the server. It adds it to the list of files that need to be checked in when you Commit your changes (below).
Add a file to Subversion - 2
Navigate up one directory and you will see the folder containing the file you just added with a little red exclamation mark. The exclamation mark indicates that there are one or more files or folders that have been modified.
Add a file to Subversion - 3

3. Commit changes. This process is the same for adding new files/folders, updating existing files/folders or deleting files/folders.

Right click on the folder with modified (added, updated, deleted) files and select SVN Commit.
Commit - 1
Enter a log message briefly summarizing what changes you made and click OK to save the changes to the server.
Commit - 2
Confirmation that the changes were saved.
Commit - 3
Notice that the red exclamation mark has turned to a green check mark indicating that all your changes have been committed to the server. Sometimes this doesn’t happen immediately. If you want to fix this you can right-click on the folder and choose Tortoise SVN –> Clean up.
Commit - 4

4. Getting the latest copy.

Right-click on your version controlled folder and choose SVN Update.
Update - 1
Confirmation screen indicating that no files were downloaded. If there are files on the server that are newer than the ones you have on your machine your files will be overwritten (if you haven’t made changes), merged (if it’s a text file) or possibly put into a conflicted state (if you have made changes and the merge fails). To avoid the hassle of resolving conflicts it is ESSENTIAL that you perform an SVN Update before making and changes to your local copy of the files.
Update - 2

Leave a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.

(required)
(required)